Life. In Light Of Eternity.

Putting Life in Perspective…and writing stories

Auburn Part 8 – Unhinging Light Finale

Image courtesy of erez-nusem (http://erez-nusem.deviantart.com/)

Image courtesy of erez-nusem (http://erez-nusem.deviantart.com/)

Mr Sinister nods at the security guard. “Very well.” Turning to look at me. “If you will excuse me, apparently I have some business to attend to. I shall not be long.” He moves quickly towards the door and exits and the guard closes it behind him.

I could hear them talking in a hushed tone outside, unable to make anything out I moved closer. I faintly heard Mr Sinister’s voice “These are not as urgent as you made them sound. I can solve the first with a phone call and the second I assure you there is time, but I will retrieve what is needed while I make the call. Stay here.” Mr Sinister’s figure moved off down the passage. Hearing his footsteps growing fainter I thought to myself how differently all this could have turned out had I reached the editor first. Now I was stuck in this room facing the choice of joining a mad man or death while guarded by someone I thought was a ally. Looking at his figure through the frosted glass of the door angered me…”All I wanted was one heroic act before I died!”. The security guard banged on the door. “Shut up in there”.

My former ally may have never believed in my idea of getting justice with my last breath but I still did. I could only think of one way to do that and that was to expose this man’s plot. But first I had to get out of here, I could agree to join him and offer to get the laptop as a gesture of allegiance and then make my way to the editor I spoke to earlier, but why would he trust me? He would send some muscle with me to make sure I didn’t back stab him. Could I escape from here any other way, I noticed a loose ceiling panel near the door, maybe I could get out of here that way. My heart swelled with hope at the idea but then sunk almost instantaneously as I heard footsteps once again. There was no time.

The security guard opened the door and Mr Sinister, holding his briefcase, walked in and turned to the  guard “You may join us for this part of the discussion”. The guard stepped in and closed the door behind him.

Mr Sinister placed the briefcase on the table and looking at me through the thin slits of his mask began to speak. “As I am sure you can understand I am a busy man and I need to have a meeting to insure a…contingency is put in the right place.” He tapped his briefcase. “Therefore the time has now come for you to decide. Will you be joining me in my endeavor to better the city or will you be going gentle into the good night?” He waited for me to respond, the security guard standing behind him staring at me. I started to think out loud; “Considering the innocent lives I know you have destroyed so far and the plan you have in mind why do you need me? Aren’t I just another casualty of change to you?”

He drummed his fingers. “Well, put simply I don’t need you, If you choose not to join me then you are another dead body that was needed to forward my plan. But you can be valuable to me if you choose to join and frankly there is another reason. The laptop. We both know it hasn’t made its way to the cops as you said earlier. You were on your way to see that journalist’s editor when we picked you up without it so I can assume you have it stashed somewhere. I want you to bring me the laptop and avoid having to rush my plan ahead.” I was confused; “What do you mean rush the plan.” Mr Sinister sighed from impatience; “Put simply, if you choose not to join and die here, then the laptop out in the wild means a few more lives may be loosed than needed to speed things up a little in my plan so as to mitigate it as a threat. The window to stop me is closing quickly so really it would just be a inconvenience to me I would rather avoid to have to close that window by force.”

I looked at this man and realized he didn’t care who he had to kill to accomplish his goal. It sickened me. “If the laptop being out there is the only possible way you can be stopped, no matter how remote that chance then there is still a chance and I won’t help you. If the last thing I do before I die is stand for justice by saying to you that you are wicked and evil then so be it. I hope someone out there finds the laptop and is made a hero for stopping you and at least I played my part by not helping you win.”

“YEAH, what the kid said!” yelled the security guard as he bashed Mr Sinister across the head from behind rendering the masked man unconscious. I was in complete shock. The security guard looked at me, “Come on kid, its like you said, one last heroic act before we die. I ain’t helping this man destroy all those lives! Lets get out of here!” He grabbed the black briefcase and moved towards the door. Still in shock I moved to follow him, the glint of something metallic on Mr Sinister catching my eye again. It was a key around his neck, I took it off of him, just in case. As we left the room the security guard turned and locked the door. “Now we know where to send the cops.”

We were on borrowed time, we both knew it but we were going to try our best to expose this evil with our dying breath.  As we left the old hospital we spotted a train station and ran towards it. Lungs burning. “We..must..get…to the editor. We stepped onto the train heading towards what could be our last stop. We both sat down trying to catch our breath. Tapping the briefcase the security guard said, “Let’s take a look at what he’s got in here, it might help.” He tried to open it. “Gah!, it’s locked!” I laughed at this twist of fate and handed him the key I had pulled off Mr Sinister. The briefcase clicked open. We eagerly looked inside it. Pen and paper could be seen but there was also a bracket much like the ones we had worn, all the lights blinking, it was full. There was also two needles inside the case, one filled with transparent liquid the other with a slightly green liquid. They were labelled”Countering agent”. Could this be it? Could this be the cure he had offered us? “You think that this stuff is the cure?” The guard asked as he took them out the case. “It could be” I replied. “Look I am a dead man anyway so I am gonna take a shot” he said as he took the green needle. “You take the other one if you want.” He was so desperate to live that he stabbed himself in the arm before I had no time to stop him. We both watched to see what would happen and before our eyes the purple veins around the area he had stabbed quickly faded. It looked like it was working. “I know it was a gamble but I was prepared to die, but I actually feel better and we are almost at the editor’s office!” The cure was in our hands! I can expose this man and live! I quickly took the clear liquid needle and jabbed myself in the arm and waited for the cure to work its magic. But instead of my purple veins fading the first thing I felt was heat spreading. My veins all started to feel as if they were coursing with heat. “I don’t think this stuff is the same.” I said.” I looked at the security guard and he was now frowning. “I can’t feel my legs any more, they wont move and I feel cold.” He said. He looked at me, “I don’t know what’s happening to me kid but I know I can’t move, you got to get to that editor yourself.” He placed the key to the room Mr Sinister was locked in within the briefcase. “Whatever is in these injections could be curing us or killing us, you just make sure you get there ok.” He sounded drowsy, almost half asleep. “Make us go out with a bang, as heroes.” Then a heat that I had felt in my veins reached my head. I felt hot all over and then I felt great. I blinked and all the colors I saw were brighter, more intense like I was seeing them for the first time. It was beautiful.

The train stopped and it was time for me to get off. The security guard looked as if he had passed out, I grabbed the briefcase and ran off the train. I ran at full speed, I felt great! I could run all day! I could look at all the beauty around me, feel the freshness of the air and run. But I was headed straight for the editor. To expose Mr Sinister. Everyone around me seemed to be moving in slow motion. I burst into the newspaper office area. “Hi, I am here to see the editor, the one who is in charge of the lady with auburn hair, he is expecting me”. I shouted the words throughout the whole office, I didn’t know who to talk to so I made sure they all heard me. A man in a blue collar shirt and black tie to the right of me spoke up, “That was a few hours ago but that is me, step into my office.” I rushed in to his office, barely taking notice of what was around me as I felt dizzy all of a sudden, I searched for a chair to sit. Perhaps all that running had caught up to me. I opened the brief case and turned it towards the editor. “This is the briefcase of the man your journalist was following and this is a a device he is using to inject people with lethal poison.” I pointed at the bracket. “The night I met her, I had one of these put on me and was injected—ahggg.” All of a sudden my heart let out a stab of pain followed quickly by all the veins in my body. I looked down and my purple veins were now all pulsating. The stuff I took hadn’t cured me, just given me a boost of energy. I grabbed the pen and paper from within the briefcase and wrote down the place where Mr Sinister was locked up. “Hey, are you ok, whats going on?” The editor had panic written all over his face. “No, I am dying, listen to me. Get cops you trust and go here and arrest the man. The key in the case opens the door.” “The editors eyes widened, “You’re dying?! I will call an ambulance!”. I continued to write the location of where the laptop was, moving my arm was excruciating. “No, there isn’t time. Go to the Y hotel, room 42. Her laptop with other evidence is there. This man is a monster, and must be stopped before he takes over the city. He killed another guy just for slipping up, the body is on the train.” I felt like I wasn’t making sense but I just needed him to know enough to stop Mr Sinister. “He is the reason for my death and now, It is up to you to make sure justice is served”. I closed my eyes for what I knew to be the last time.

_________

The alternative universe can be found here.  Enjoy! Please let us know what you think.

All the previous posts of this story can be found on Nthato’s blog if you click here and you can find all of my posts for this story here.

If you are totally confused. Read this post to see what is going on.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

