Life. In Light Of Eternity.

Putting Life in Perspective…and writing stories

SnapPost #11 – Black badge’s (Ke!th universe)

This story was inspired by a #2bitTues twitter session earlier this month. Normally I write a few random bite size stories to fit the theme of the week, but this week I started with this tweet 2bitTues Image 1 which sparked my imagination so I followed it up with this one;2bitTues Image 2Since that last tweet the story has just kept growing in my head. It has now gotten to a point that it has now claimed a spot as part of a larger story project I am writing called Ke!th. So I am now writing the story it triggered below. Please let me know what you think.

__________________

Each badge meant something, blue for normal access, red for backstage. Everyone wanted red. Then there was the black one. The black badge was rare. The few that had one had sworn not to reveal its significance. I was surprised when I got one. There was a simple note within the envelope that my badge was delivered in.

“This will open a door hidden behind the black curtain that hangs across from the main hall’s entrance.” The rest, I suppose I was going to discover behind the door…

I wore that black badge with pride on the day of the event. Those around me looking at it in envy and curiosity.

The man sitting next to me in the first session said.“Hey man, I didn’t see the black badge on the site, how did you buy it? How is it different from the blue and red ones?”

All I could do was smile and say; “Sorry man, I can’t tell you that.” To be truthful I still had no idea what it was for. At that point I hadn’t entered the door yet. I just gave him the same answer I knew the other black badges would give. I had planned to go to the door right after that session was over though. I couldn’t wait.

As the session finished, I tried to walk as casual as I could to the location of the hidden door. But my phone beeped as I neared the curtain. The text had two words from a strange number. “Not active.” I thought it must be a wrong number. But as I got closer to the curtain I was tapped on the shoulder and I turned around to see a man with a stern look on his face. He was also wearing a black badge and he said “I know you are new to the badge so let me help you out. If you get a message saying Not active it means the door wont open. If the text says Active then you can enter. This door will become active around lunch. See you later.” And then He began to walk away. I was thankful for the information but had a lot more questions to ask him so I went after him and said;

“Hi, uh..thank you for that information but could you tell me more? What is behind the door and –” Before I could finish my sentence he stopped and looked at me with his stern face again and replied;

“You will have to wait until the door is active to learn more. Also, black badges don’t speak to each other outside the doors, we don’t want attention. Until later” And he walked away. Now I’m sure you can imagine that I couldn’t wait for lunch.

Keith nodded at Alex, keen to hear more of his story. “Well I–” Alex’s cellphone rang and he answered. Keith looked around the empty canteen while he waited for Alex to finish his conversation on the phone. Alex put the phone down and stood up. “Sorry Keith, I will tell you more later. That was one of the guys from upstairs. They have some 9-1-1 type of emergency that they want my help with.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

