Life. In Light Of Eternity.

Putting Life in Perspective…and writing stories

Got Wisdom?

Do you, without looking it up all sneaky like. Know what the word wisdom means?

Does being wise mean the same thing as being smart or having knowledge? Am I wise if I am a smart guy that picks up on concepts quickly? Am I wise if I just know a lot of stuff, for example I know a good amount of computer related stuff, does that make me wise?

If you did look it up then you get this as a result.

wis·dom

noun

  1. the quality of having experience, knowledge, and good judgment; the quality of being wise.

  1. the soundness of an action or decision with regard to the application of experience, knowledge, and good judgment.

Now that might of gone over your head. So let me make this simple;

Wisdom is knowledge and experience in action in such away that it glorifies God.

Simple right? Now why do I say it that way? Let me break it down a little, If I have a whole lot of knowledge but don’t do anything with that knowledge or if I am really smart but decide not to use my God given smarts and just coast through things with no effort then I am being wasteful of my gifts and not beneficial to anyone. It would be foolish behavior. Wisdom is taking what we have, in terms of knowledge and smarts and…actually using it. Taking what we know and acting on it.

Let us consider a really smart criminal. Moriarty from Sherlock Holmes, he was really smart. Moriarty has knowledge of how things work but he takes that knowledge and applies it to the act of stealing other peoples money without getting caught. Maybe he takes 1 cent per day out of 1 million accounts, no one is going to notice such a small transaction but it adds up to a decent amount. Would that be wise? No. Because he would be sinning and displeasing God. Wisdom is not the same thing as merely gaining knowledge or being intelligent. Proverbs 3:7 actually speaks against the type of wisdom that is focused on intellect;

“Be not wise in your own eyes;
fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.”

Doesn’t God want his people to be people that think? YES, he wants us to think. However we are called to think wisely and not depend on our own intellect or our own skill. We can’t be self sufficient. That would make us proud and God resists the proud (James 4:6).

There is not a greater enemy to the fear of the Lord in the heart, than self-conceit of our own wisdom.- Matthew Henry

So to be wise is to take what you know and use it in a way that brings Him glory. For righteous actions. That is what I want for you dear reader. I don’t want to fill your head with simple facts and information you wont use. If you want knowledge, I could teach you, no problem. I can show you how to make a website, rebuild a PC, I can teach you stuff but it means nothing. Unless you use it in a wise manner. I want you to be wise. I want you to be someone who uses their brain to bring God glory. Don’t be lazy.

Alternatively you could choose the path of laziness because you don’t wont to apply yourself to become wise and it is SOO much easier to go with the flow. Trust me, I know that feeling too. But I also know that by doing so we are being fools and shooting ourselves in the foot. While at the same time dishonoring God. Even by the worlds standards. The professional world wants people who are wise and not lazy. There is no “Now hiring lazy people” signs out there. They want people that put the effort in. 

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t want you to take action so you can get a job. Proverbs 3:13-18 speaks about finding wisdom as far more valuable than finding gold or precious jewels. Everything around us is trying to convince us to buy the newest (insert item here). All we hear is make money so you can get nice things and go places. If gold is all you have then once that is spent it is gone. It runs out. It perishes and it looses its value. Seeking gold is serving a false god without any true reward. Wisdom. Wisdom on the other hand…wisdom is not exhaustible. Wisdom is always valuable and never runs out. So take your knowledge and experience, put it into in action in such away that it glorifies God and you shall be honored. Be a good and faithful servant (Matthew 25:21)

I will allow Proverbs 3:35 to have the last say. It reads as follow;

“The wise will inherit honor,
but fools get disgrace.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

