Life. In Light Of Eternity.

Putting Life in Perspective…and writing stories

Create Something March 2017

create-something-march-2017

At the beginning of every month I try to write a story using words or phrases submitted to me by others. You can submit some to me by using my twitter @OdlyOtter and the hashtag #createsomething below is this months submission and story. Enjoy.
march-csm

This is not what I expected to see. Here I am, face to face with a possum that is so large it is positively wolfish. “Come to Australia!” They said. “It would be a nice family reunion over Christmas.” they said.  There was no mention of possum’s this big. What do I do now? The kitchen door is so far away I can’t run for it. All I have is this stupid whip, why did I buy this thing? It seemed like it would be a good quirky gift for someone back home. But how would you even use it…hmmm maybe I can frighten this things away if I flick it well enough.

*whip*

*crack*

Ha! That worked, wow that was loud. Whoever named this thing surely understood what onomatopoeia was, although I might have called it the cracker. Nah, too silly. Ok, I should get inside before I’m attacked by a Kingler Pokemon or something. So far this visit has had too little waterfalls and mountains and waaay too many things that look like they want to eat me or rob me. Welcome to the outback I guess.

 

“Hi there Pops. I am back from my walk. I was almost maimed by a possum but I survived. I think I might have a headache starting. Do you have any panado’s or some other tablet I can take?”

“Sure thing Bert, my boy. They are in the cupboard to your left. Say, are you up for a adventure?”

Good ole Pop’s, always looking for the next adventure. “Where are we going?”

“Oh well this newsletter says they found a strange artefact in the rainforest near us. It looks like a throne of some kind, thought you might like it.”

That does sound interesting, no doubt he really wants to see it too. “Ok sure Pop’s, lets go for another adeventure. But first, time for a nap”

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

